Category Archives: International

Webber Surf Pool – South Africa on the cards

There has been a bit of talk lately about a new wave pool possibly coming to South Africa in the near future, while getting completely sidetracked on youtube I came across this clip uploaded way back in Nov 2010, but it had some recent comments flying around, one which was quite interesting….

2014-03-10 10-04-25 Continue reading Webber Surf Pool – South Africa on the cards

Graham Jarvis wins Roof of Africa 2013

Cold and wet conditions greeted competitors on the final day of the 2013 Roof of Africa over the weekend in Lesotho. With more that ten riders failing to make it to the finish on Friday and spending the night in the Mountains, it was going to prove to be another extremely challenging day for all the riders.Chris Birch, Graham Jarvis, Blake Gudzeit and Altus De Wet were all penalized three minutes over night for failing to report to DSP 2 on Friday, but Birch and Jarvis still held a substantial lead over the rest of the field and lead out the morning’s start just seconds apart. It was evident right from the beginning that Jarvis was on a mission as he began to reel in Birch coming down Bushman’s Pass. Conditions were so bad that the Clerk of the Course decided to remove the first major pass of the day but next up was Mokopu Pass, in the race for the first time, and Birch and Jarvis arrived together. Reports filtered back to race headquarters that by the summit of Mokopu, Graham Jarvis had put 25 minutes into Birch. Ben Hemingway was feeling the strains of Friday’s efforts and was passed by Scott Bouverie and Blake Gudzeit, who were locked in a battle to be the first South African across the line.

Graham Jarvis is a master of wet and slippery conditions and this became more and more evident through the morning. Approaching the final ascent of Bushman’s Pass, Jarvis was over 50 minutes ahead of Birch and romped home to and emphatic on his

Husqvarna. Gudzeit and Bouverie were at it, wheel to wheel, the whole day and provided a dramatic finish in front of the enthusiastic crowd, scattered across the pass.Only 24 riders were able to finish the Gold Class and it looked like, once again, there will be riders stuck in the dark and forced to spend the night in the Mountains.

Results for the final day:

1. Graham Jarvis – 6h35m37
2. Blake Gudzeit – 7h33m06
3. Scott Bouverie – 7h33m29
4. Chris Birch – 7h34m41
5. Ben Hemingway – 8h00m01
6. Kenny Gilbert – 8h24m55
7. Altus De Wet – 8h41m50
8. Dan Hemingway – 8h57m18
9. James Hodson – 8h58m03
10. Bronson Louw – 9h11m28

Overall Results:
1 Graham Jarvis
2. Chris Birch
3. Scott Bouverie

The victorious Graham Jarvis even remarked in his acceptance speech that it is so great to see Monster Energy on board as a major sponsor of such a prestigious event. Monster Energy looks forward to growing the profile and supporting the The Roof Of Africa in the future. 
The Roof Of Africa is in the top five for hardest enduro events in the world and the sheer determination and power of the riders has proven that only hardest in the world can come through unscathed. There was even a situation where one of the Japanese riders, competing for the first time, spent the night in the mountains at the event and was found the by the townspeople and escorted to the nearest village in Lesotho to make sure he had a safe and comfortable night. 
Official website:
Twitter: @MonsterEnergySA 
Twitter: @roofofafrica

Billabong Pro Tahiti Results

Adrian Buchan (AUS), 30, has claimed the 2013 Billabong Pro Tahiti over 11-time ASP World Champion and four-time Billabong Pro winner Kelly Slater (USA) in solid four-to-six foot (1.5 – 2 metre) waves at Teahupo’o. The results were rather controversial with a mis-called priority hiccup which may or may not have changed the result. Many fans have been left disgruntled and are calling for ASP to make a statement regarding the fudging.

South Africa’s Jordy Smith finished in an unfortunate 9th position, with fellow saffer, Travis Logie, finishing up further down the line.

CURRENT ASP WCT TOP 5 (Following Billabong Pro Tahiti):
Kelly Slater (USA) 38,950 pts
2. Mick Fanning (AUS) 37,900 pts
3. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 30,700 pts
4. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 29,200 pts
5. Taj Burrow (AUS) 25,400 pts

Mont Saint Anne affected by weather

Unfavourable weather conditions took its toll on the midfield at the UCI Downhill World Cup that was held at Mont-Sainte-Anne, Quebec, Canada on Sunday 11 August 2013.

South African Andrew Neethling riding for Giant Factory Off-Road Team, posted a slower time in his qualifying run on Saturday, which placed him in 76th place and resulted in an early start in the race on Sunday.

After a 15th place at the first timed split, the reigning World Downhill Champion, Greg Minnaar managed to obtain fifth fastest time in qualifying, a time of 4:08.340.

Neethling’s final run on Sunday was a huge improvement on his qualifying time and he claimed the hot seat for a large portion of the race, posting a final time of 4:02.984, unfortunately Gee Atherton managed to knock Neethling off when he posted 3:59.389.

Sam Hill then descended the treacherous course, finishing 1.2 seconds behind Atherton. Minnaar was next to descend, and managed to hold it together but also finished behind Atherton, placing him 3rd.

Despite the soggy conditions, local Canadian, Steve Smith, impressed the fans as he put together a solid run and managed grabbed the victory in great style.

Greg Minnaar said: “With nine podiums here: six 2nds, one win, one 3rd and now a 4th, I know I’m good at Mont Sainte Anne, but to win you need to be great. I made the mistake of switching to mud tyres after the rain started.  What brought me happiness was watching Stevie winning on home turf! Big thanks to the Syndicate, I’m just disappointed that I couldn’t justify all their efforts with a better result.”

In the womans event, Ragot took the win after a ballsy but smooth run and was joined on the podium by Manon Carpenter in second and Floriane Pugin in third.

© Sven Martin/Red Bull Content Pool

Summary of Results – UCI World Cup – Downhill – Mt Sainte Anne

Women’s DH results

1 Emmeline Ragot (FRA, Lapierre Garvity Republic)

2 Manon Carpenter (GBR, Madison Saracen)

3 Floriane Pugin (FRA, Gstaadt-Scott)

4 Emelie Siegenthaler (SUI, Gstaadt-Scott)

5 Myriam Nicole (FRA, Commencal/Riding Addiction)


Men’s DH results

1 Stevie Smith (CAN, Devinci Global Racing)

2 Gee Atherton (GBR, GT Factory Racing)

3 Sam Hill (AUS, CRC/Nukeproof)

4 Greg Minnaar (RSA, Santa Cruz Syndicate)

5 Aaron Gwin (USA, Specialized Racing)

Top 5 – Crashes and Best Moments – Redbull Rampage

Red Bull Rampage is one of the toughest physical downhill mountain bike events on the planet. We found the roughest and hardest crashes from past events, including some gnarly falls from Josh Bender, Lance Canfield, Garrett Buehler and Cam McCaul, who show us how difficult and physical Red Bull Rampage really is. Watch some of the winning runs from over the years, including Tyler Klassen back in 2002, Cedric Gracia in ’03 and Kyle Strait in ’04, plus epic moves from Gee Atherton and Cam Zink in 2010.

Want to know more about the event? Check out

Mark Webb – The Webbie Show, BMX

The Webbie Show 2, no exotic locations, no budget, just a whole lot of determination mixed in with tons of creativity. During filming Mark suffered a few injuries and set backs and at times it seemed he was not going to finish it. He was under a lot of pressure after setting the bar so high on the original Webbie Show in January 2012, but i think you will agree he did a great job this time around.
Support Mark Webb by buying his signature frame and parts.
Enjoy the show.